Stories about my Travels

I will share some of the amazing and hilarious stories when I have travelled around the world.

When I was on my cruise around Alaska last summer after my Portland State University graduation, I was relaxing with my cousins watching the movie “Frozen”. During the movie, the weather changed from sunny and blue skies to rainy and extremely cold outside. That exact weather felt like we were becoming frozen just like the characters in the movie. It was hilarious in a way, but we were just having fun and drinking hot chocolate.

When I was traveling in Washington, D.C. and Baltimore, Maryland with my folks last year, my aunt had a broom and a scrubbing machine that was called the Hurricane Mop. My aunt demonstrated to everyone on how to use the machine and my mom wanted to learn how to use it. She thought it was the greatest invention ever created and my other cousin was just shaking his head in disbelief. One day, me, my parents and my cousin toured around Washington, DC on a cruise ship. During the tour, this old African American guy wanted to get some cake from this cake stand. As he was about to cut two slices off the cake, the entire cake suddenly fell to the floor. He said, “I was going to get two slices of cake for my wife!”. My response in my mind was like, “I think you should have cut a different piece of cake and not destroy that cake for the other guests.” I didn’t want to offend him and say what I was thinking out loud. I just looked at him in disbelief and thought why would you do that? He could have cut a different slice from another full cake for his wife instead of destroying an entire cake.

Last summer, I went to the beach with my uncle’s family from Boise, Idaho and my grandma who lives in downtown, Portland. When we arrived at the beach house, there were millions of house larva bugs that were attached to the exterior of the house. My uncle, his two girls and myself were unsure on how these bugs appeared on the house. The bugs began appearing inside the front section of the house, including the bathroom and shower. So, my uncle decided to poison the bugs around the interior and exterior sections of the house so they won’t appear anymore in the house. When I was grilling a huge slab of steak with my favorite uncle, it took us almost 4 hours to grill the meat on a one-single burner. We became impatient as we were cooking the meat because we were unsure about whether the inner core was cooked. As we were cooking the meat, flames began shooting out of the grill, which frightened us. My uncle was like, “We need a four burner grill and get rid of this one-single burner because this grill isn’t cutting it for me.” I agreed with him because everybody inside the beach house was waiting for dinner, but the single-burner was the main problem. So, my uncle told me that he will purchase a four-burner grill at the Ace Hardware shop close to the beach house this August, which sounds reasonable based on my perspective. During that same week at the beach house, my aunt slipped and sprained her ankle when I was walking with her family around Lincoln City. After she fell, myself and her two girls immediately helped her to sit down and stretch her legs, including the sprained ankle. My uncle walked back to the beach house to get the car and drive us back to the house to heal her wounds. She was given a bag of ice cubes, band-aid and a chair so she can rest her legs. When we were back at the beach house, we were unsure about whether to drive to the hospital or urgent care. So, we decided to visit an urgent care center in Lincoln City, however that center was closed. Then we went to Goodwill to purchase a pair of crutches for her legs, which were cheap. After we visited Goodwill, we went to a local hospital in Lincoln City so my aunt can be checked by a doctor and nurses. She was given some medicine and information by the medical professionals about what to do with her injuries. I am just glad she was okay after that incident and was given help by her family. I just hope my aunt doesn’t break her ankle when she visits the beach this coming August.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.